What? Who? When? Why?… Weird Sports Facts 2

Ding, Ding, Round 2 of weird sports facts is here.  I tried to come up with a special phrase for these posts (Weird Sports Facts Saturday?)  I will figure something out, but in the meantime here are a few more weird sports facts.

I have never really considered all the materials that are used to make the balls that are played with in each sport.  Think about all the sports leagues and levels of competition and then think about how many balls are used in those sports each day.  It is mind-boggling.  To supply enough footballs for the NFL to use for an entire year it takes 3,000 cows.  That is a lot of moo-ing.

So I just spent the past weekend and beginning of the work week playing golf in Arizona and Southern Utah.  Played 45 holes in about 30 hours and it got me thinking, how fast could you play a full 18 hole course?  Of course I had to do a little research, but I found out that the fast ever 18 hole round (by a team, which I am guessing means 4 guys) is 9 minutes and 28 seconds.  I don’t see how that is possible, but damn that is fast.  I want to see somebody try and break that.

Baseball is a sport that has been around for a long, long, long, long time.  Probably longer than that many longs.  It may be played slightly different from the way it is today, but for the most part things are very similar.  One difference may be in the way the umpires were positioned.  Not so much the ones on the field, but the one behind home plate.  Before 1859, yeah that long ago, umpires behind home plate would sit in a padded chair and call balls and strikes.  Now they have to be in better condition, so they can stand for 3 or 4 hour long baseball games.  I am surprised the umpires union hasn’t tried to get chairs for the umpires again.  Wouldn’t that be an interesting site?

This entry was posted in Weird Sports Facts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What? Who? When? Why?… Weird Sports Facts 2

  1. Leanne says:

    If you put things into perspective, turning into a football is probably a really great future for cows. Compared to the alternatives anyway. Also, I don’t think I could play a round of mini-golf in 9 minutes. That’s insane.

    • Yeah I guess in the cow world becoming a football is like being a king. I know I couldn’t play a round of mini golf that fast. It makes no sense that you could play a golf round that fast.

Leave a Reply

