Top 10 Greatest Sports Movies Of All Time

Time for another installment of greatest sports movies.  I think that each time I look over my list I want to change a few around, but then realize that there is no need to change anything.  We are getting closer to the top choices and today we have numbers 8 and 7.

#8  Major League

I had the hardest time placing this movie so low on the list, because it is such a great movie.  Charlie Sheen alone can put any movie in a top ten list, well until he went crazy which I am pretty sure was when he was born.  This movie has it all and a whole lot more.  I think I need to re-watch it though because I am forgetting all the players names except Willy “Mays” Hayes.  Oh well.  See it if you haven’t and enjoy the craziness that ensues.

#7  Sandlot

Alright, any kid born between 1980 and 2000 should have seen this movie and placed it on any list of their greatest childhood movies.  Sandlot is one of those movies that if you didn’t see it as a kid, you were obviously living under rock or in Siberia or something.  If you have never heard the saying, “You’re killing me smalls” or “when I got us into the biggest pickle any of us had ever seen” or “for-ev-er, for-ev-er, for-ev-er” or about a thousand other quotable lines, then you haven’t lived.  Sandlot is the movie from my generation that created a love for lifeguards named Wendy Peffercorn.  Oh man.  What an amazing movie.  Definitely a must see for everyone who has never seen it and a second, third, or one thousandth watch for the rest of you.

This entry was posted in Top 10 Sports Movies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Top 10 Greatest Sports Movies Of All Time

  1. Leanne says:

    Didn’t expect to see Major League on your list. I completely forgot about that movie. The Sandlot is a necessary pick, but if it’s all the way at #7, I’m curious to see where the list goes from here…

    • Yeah I had to sneak Major League in there. I think I put it a little high on the list, but oh well. Sandlot was really hard to put so low. It was the movie that our generation grew up on really haha.

  2. I’d imagine that a conversation with someone who hasn’t heard of the Sandlot would go a lot like this:

    Ham Porter: [mimicking Babe Ruth with a cigar in his mouth; can’t understand him] Check this out. I’m the Great Bambino.
    Sandlot Kids: What?
    Ham Porter: [still can’t understand him] I’m the Great Bambino!
    Sandlot Kids: What?
    Ham Porter: [takes cigar out of mouth] I’m the Great Bambino.
    Sandlot Kids: Oh!
    Smalls: Who’s that?
    Smalls: [narrating] I had no idea what they were talking about.
    Ham Porter: What did he say?
    Bertram: What? Were you born in a barn, man?
    Yeah Yeah: Yeah yeah, what planet are you from?
    Smalls: [narrating] But there was no *way* I could let them know.
    Squints: You’ve never heard of the sultan of swat?
    Kenny: The titan of terror.
    Timmy: The colossus of clout!
    Tommy: The colossus of clout!
    Benny Rodriguez: The king of crash, man.
    Smalls: [narrating] So, I lied.
    Smalls: Oh! The Great Bambino. Of course. I thought you said the great Bambi.
    Ham Porter: That wimpy deer?

  3. hhaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha there aren’t enough ha’s in the world to cover that. Oh man. Straight classic!

Leave a Reply

