US Open Golf Tournament Starts Today

Today marks the start of the 112th US Open Golf Tournament.  Like I usually do I am more than willing to take Tiger Woods over the field.  I think he is due for a big win and honestly there is nothing like watching him when he is at his best.  I can never go against a guy who can be that dominant when he is on top of his game and he looks like he could be getting right back to that.

BUT… For the first time in a long time I am going to choose somebody other than Tiger.  Rickie Fowler is another Southern California kid, much like myself, and on top of that he is from the same area as me.  He graduated from Murrieta Valley High School in 2007 and I can remember following his ascension from a great high school golfer to the PGA winner he is now.   He seems ready to take that next step with his game, much like Rory McIlroy did last year at the same tournament.

One thing is for sure and that is that scoring will be at a premium.  Birdies will be hard to come by.  I don’t see how the winner could go any lower than like 6 or 7 under after this tournament is over.  If past US Opens at The Olympic Club in San Francisco have taught us anything it is that par is a great score.  I can’t wait until the final round on Father’s Day Sunday, like it is every year, and hopefully see Fowler somewhere near the lead and looking to take the title.  Go Rickie!

This entry was posted in Best Coast Influence. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

