They Did What? Weird Sports Facts

Welcome to Saturday Strange.  That was awkward.  I swear I can not come up with a good name for this thing.  Oh well.  Enjoy!

Sports is a year round happening.  No matter what day it is,  24/7 and 365 days a year.  Sports is always on television, radio, the internet something.  Now you would think that between the four major sports leagues (NBA, MLB, NFL, NHL) there would be at least a few days out of the year that there are no professional games.  I was thinking that there were probably 10-20 such days.  I was wrong.  Apparently there are only two days during the year that there is not at least one major professional sports game happening.  It happens every summer and it will again in about a month or so.  It occurs the day before and the day after the MLB All-Star game.  If you think about it it actually makes sense.  Most of the time there are at least two sports in season, but during the summer baseball is the only major pro sport in season.  Weird.

So if you know me or have read any of my blog postings, it is pretty obvious that basketball is my favorite sport.  I love it so much and I like to think that I know just about everything there is to know about the game.  Sometimes I come across a weird factoid that just makes me think there could be no way that actually happened, because I would have heard about it by this point.  I came across this a couple months back and then just saw somebody make mention of it during a podcast.  Up until the late 1930s, I wanna say 37, but can’t be for sure.  After every made basket the referee would stop play, bring everyone back to half court and do a jump ball.  There was no possession awarded to the other team or anything like that.  They simply stopped played and jumped it up again, like they would before the game started.  Crazy!

This entry was posted in Best Coast Influence. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

