Weird Sports Facts

It’s always fun to research all these random sports facts and see what I can find.  I have a few more for y’all today.

Home runs are one of the most exciting things to see in baseball.  People don’t want to watch a pitchers dual every single night.  They want to see guys hit long, long home runs.  That was the case a few years ago during the steroid era.  It seemed that every time Sammy Sosa and Mark McGwire hit a home run people were pulling out the tape measure to see how far it went.  The past few years with the lack of steroids juicing up even the smallest guys out there, the tape measure shot isn’t really around as much.  I was interested to see how far the longest home run ever had travelled.  I assumed it had to be one of the steroid using guys and it had to be around 550 or 560 ft.  I was totally wrong.  The longest home run is said to have been hit by Mickey Mantle at 643 ft.  That is insane!

I am always intrigued by weird sports.  I think the crazier the rules and such, the cooler it is.  Jai-alai is one of the gnarly-est sports I have ever watched.  I still don’t really get all the rules.  All I know is that that ball is going very, very fast as it hits that wall and bounces back.  I just found out that Jai-alai is the fastest ball sport in the world.  Baseball pitchers can throw a ball just over 100 mph at a maximum.  A Jai-alai ball can travel up to  188 mph.  I don’t want to get hit by anything going that fast.  Ever!

This entry was posted in Best Coast Influence, Weird Sports Facts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weird Sports Facts

  1. Leanne says:

    643 feet? I could do that. Heh.

Leave a Reply

