All Star Weekend

It’s NBA All-Star weekend and I’ve come to terms with the fact that I just don’t care about the game, or the weekend festivities, as much as I once did.  The joy that is supposed to be brought to the game just seems lacking the last couple of years and has made me enjoy it a little less each year.

One of the reasons the last couple years were so special was because of the resurgence of the dunk contest.  But, with no Zach Lavine out there to make Aaron Gordon work for a title, the favorite by a mile with be Gordon.  I’m not saying that the dunk contest still can’t be great, but it just doesn’t pack the same punch as it once did.  I think Derrick Jones will surprise some people with his freakish athleticism and if he isn’t too nervous, make at least one unreal attempt.

The next big issue is that Steph Curry is not in the 3-point contest and that makes me not want to tune into that at all either.

The All-Star game itself is at least good for one thing.  You see a ton of points and no matter what the score, the 4th quarter becomes an actual basketball game with the 10 best players in the world on the court, and there is no other place in the world that you get to see that happen.

I will probably watch the game and some of the Saturday night shenanigans, but I just don’t care as much as I did when I was 15 and went out at half time to practice the insane dunks I saw the night before or during the first half of the game.  The All-Star game is still great as a spectator sport, but no longer does it mean anything more than a pointless exhibition game.

UCLA takes the court against USC on Saturday night at 7 and you better believe I will be glued to the tv when that comes on.  I can’t take another loss in this game, so the Bruins better bring it.  Go Bruins!!!

 

This entry was posted in Best Coast Influence. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

